JK Brackens

Founded 1992

Co. Tipperary

Seniors advance to Cahill Cup final.

Want to manage your club's membership online this year? We've seen revenue increase by 30%.

See More

Our Senior hurlers advanced to the final of the Cahill Cup in Holycross on Tuesday evening with a 4-21 to 2-16 victory over the home side. Brackens went for the jugular early on and hit three goals inside the opening 17 minutes courtesy of Eoin Fitzpatrick, Shane Doyle and David O'Shea. Brackens also had points from Diarmuid Delaney, Doyle, Jordan Moloney and Lyndon Fairbrother in response to six minors from Holycross to lead by seven after twenty minutes. 1-1 from Darragh Woods and a point from Luke O'Mara in the space of three minutes cut the lead to two before Andrew Ormond landed Brackens fourth major. That goal seemed to suck the life out of the home challenge and further points from O'Shea, Doyle and Fairbrother saw Brackens lead by eight at teatime. That lead stretched out to fourteen by the three-quarter stage thanks to points from Fairbrother ( 4), the returning Conor Cadell (2), Eoin Fitzpatrick and a cracking line ball from Doyle. Holycross hit a mini-purple patch to halve the lead but Brackens finished strong with four more from Lyndon and one apiece from Cadell and Doyle. They now face Thurles Sarsfields in the final after they defeated Moycarkey/Borris by 4-24 to 2-20 in tonight's second semi-final. The final will be played in Holycross and is provisionally fixed for Wednesday May 31st.

Team and Scorers: Tom Bourke, Jamie Bergin, Luke Ormond, Martin Delaney, Adrian Bourke, Jack Bergin, Jordan Moloney (0-1), Eoin Fitzpatrick (1-1), Dean McEnroe, Martin Bergin, Andrew Ormond (1-0), Diarmuid Delaney (0-1), David O'Shea (1-1), Shane Doyle (1-4, 0-1 lb), Lyndon Fairbrother (0-10, 0-9f).

Subs Used: Conor Cadell (0-3) for Martin Bergin, Mikey Delaney for Delaney, Eddie Bergin for Fitzpatrick.

Referee: Kevin Jordan.

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play